Mastercard announces Women SME Leaders Award Winners

By: GWL Team | Monday, 10 June 2024

A global technology company in the payments industry, Mastercard has made an announcement about the winners of Women SME Leaders Award’s 3rd edition while celebrating women-owned and led businesses’ achievements across different realms in the Eastern Europe, Middle East and Africa (EEMEA) region.

Mastercard Women SME Leaders Awards was launched in the year 2022, serves as the 1st initiative of its kind that intend to recognize outstanding female entrepreneurs who are shaping the future of the region.

The event has celebrated the women changemakers’ achievements in Eastern Europe, Middle East and Africa. The announced winners involve women entrepreneurs from Egypt, Lithuania, Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania, Turkey, UAE and Ukraine.

Mastercard’s Executive Vice President in Market Development of EEMEA, Amnah Ajmal said, “At Mastercard، we believe when we support women entrepreneurs، we are not only supporting the economy but also their desire to solve real needs. That’s why we are committed to creating an enabling environment for women to fulfil their potential as business leaders. The Mastercard Women SME Leaders Awards is an integral part of our women’s empowerment journey. This initiative helps us generate momentum so we can continue to uplift the most impactful women changemakers.”

The winners of the event include Egypt’s Jessy Radwan, Founder and CEO, Carerha (Educator); Egypt’s Farah Ahmed Farag, Founder and CEO, The baby garage (Momrepreneur of the Year); UAE’s Fay Wong, Director and Partner, BID (The Creative Leader); Lithuania’s Laura Kaziukoniene, Founder and CEO, Super Garden (The F&B Leader); UAE’s Hanane Benkhalouk, Founder, Tawazoun (The Visionary); UAE’s Reem AlMusabbah, co-founder, Unipreneur Inc, and Head of Community Engagement and Membership, Women in AI UAE Technology (The Leader of Tomorrow); South Africa’ Chelsea Hornby, Founder, Elle International (The Health Custodian); UAE’s Farah Zafar, Co-founder and CEO, Lyvely (The Innovator);

Other winners are UAE’s Pamela Lilburne Opie, Founder and CEO, Linen Obsession Textile Trading (The Retailer); Ukraine’s Yuliia Fedosiuk, CEO, UAPAY (The Professional Services Leader); UAE’s Leda Di Marti, CEO, Maelle Group (The Fashion & Beauty Leader); Tanzania’s Jacqueline Lawrence, Highlands FM Radio (The Media Leader); Turkey’s İpek Koç Kıraç, Suna'nın Kızları (The Social Impact Leader); Namibia’s Dr Smita Francis, Founder and Chair, Namibia Women in Engineering Association (Lifetime Achievement Award); South Africa’s Alicia English, Executive Director, The Olive Exchange (Home-Based Business of the Year).